top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlicia Nelson

The Greatest Love

Updated: Aug 8, 2020

We asked those connected to I.R.E.N.E. to share something memorable about the elders who made an impact in their lives. Enjoy the read!


As kid growing up, I can remember being embraced by my family and my community. But, there is absolutely nothing I remember more than the feeling of love, acceptance, and value I felt when I went to visit my great-grand parents in Evanston, IL. The love my Granny gave me, was and still to this day, is the greatest love I have ever known.


There were hardly any children to play with so, I relied heavily on the activites my Granny would plan.

The love my Granny gave me was, and still to this day, is the Greatest Love I have ever known.

We would visit family and friends, cook, maintain her housekeeping schedule, and when she watched sports (and oh my God, she loved sports), I would draw until my heart was content. My great grands would keep me busy with learning how to do everything around the house and my spoiled me and let me drink coffee everyday!


When I look back, what I value most, is how she took the time to teach me everything from how to cook, how to make fresh squeezed lemonade, family history, and most importantly, how to love. Even when I was mischevious...and there were times, she never fussed at me. She never raised her voice. She always spoke to me in her softest sweetest voice, good or bad, and she taught me and she loved me. She was like an angel to me.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page